Author Topic: Ignition key switch, tune up, etc  (Read 7029 times)

stl mike

• View Profile
Ignition key switch, tune up, etc
« on: October 20, 2014, 03:24:16 AM »
Hello everyone,
   I'm brand new to scooters, but not new to turning wrenches. I'm an engineer for a major aerospace company and a maintenance officer in the Navy reserves as well. I just finished building a 95 Cobra on nitrous. Just looking around it seems to be a great forum with a lot of knowledge. Thanks in advance.

Picked up a 2002 People 2 stroke for 200 bucks. The battery is dead and it didn't come with keys, so I need to replace the battery and get an ignition key switch and the 2 locks for the seat and storage. Where is the best place to do this?

Also where is the best place to order factory parts?

Again, thanks in advance!
Mike

zombie

• You never know do ya!
  • Close enough to get the idea!
    • View Profile
Re: Ignition key switch, tune up, etc
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2014, 04:41:28 AM »
Kymco parts monster has been highly recommended here, and I have used them a few times myself.
http://www.kymcopartsmonster.com

You're gonna want a new CVT belt/Rollers/spark plug/fuel, and air filters. All that + the Ign set should run around 150.00.
Do a compression test on the engine before anything else. 2t's wear out quickly or are prone to serious damage from simple mistakes. You should see numbers above 120 psi w/ the throttle held wide open.

Welcome to the forum. There are a lot of great people here.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2014, 04:45:59 AM by zombie »
"They have nothing in their whole imperial arsenal that can break the spirit of one Irishman who doesn't want to be broken."   Bobby Sands...

stl mike

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2014, 01:52:27 PM »
Thanks for the reply! I found the ignition switches but it says "call us", I'm thinking this may sting a bit.

I see people referring to to their scooters as 2d and 4d. Are they saying 2 stroke = 2d and 4 stroke = 4d?