Author Topic: 2003 Super 9 LC no spark  (Read 2190 times)

chaz35

• old guy
    • View Profile
2003 Super 9 LC no spark
« on: November 06, 2014, 07:39:32 PM »
I took off all the plastic and have been checking down the list in the service manual.  I am not good with multimeter, so having some issues there.  Anyway, I am learning some new stuff, which is fun.

So far this is what I have checked:  (1) sparkplug OK, installed new one, still no spark (2) checked CDI unit, multimeter doesn't do anything with CDI, don't know if CDI bad or multimeter bad (3) checked coil and plug wire, coil appears maybe OK, but didn't get any continuity from coil to plug cap or end of plug wire, maybe OK and multimeter just bonkers (4) checked AC generator and got bad readings, again not sure if bad multimeter or not, (5) checked ignition switch and appears OK, (6) checked fuses, appear OK, I think fuses are in the little cylinders, right?, the ones on the box are just spares, right?

Someone  posted that when starting with kick starter, don't need to hold brakes.  Actually, have to put scooter on center stand to use kick starter, i.e. center stand is in the way if up.  So, I didn't check brakes, but I was using rear brakes when kick starting anyway and no spark.  There appears to be a switch that is actuated when the center stand is up, I guess has something to do with starting, IDK.

I am debating what to do next.  Go buy another multimeter?  Pull the stator?  Start checking wiring continuity all over the scooter?  If I just start replacing parts, the stator would probably be a part to replace, plus CDI, and coil.  If the pulser is bad, appears have to buy the whole stator right?

I am thinking even if I buy some parts I don't need, plus some tools, still maybe about the same as taking it to the shop.  I did call the shop and sounds expensive, plus a huge hassle to get scooter there and back.  So for now, I think I will continue to try to fix it myself.