Author Topic: New Kymco Rider in Central Texas !  (Read 3109 times)

Rasta_scootah

• 2014 People GT300i 1,500 miles / past 2012 Like200
    • View Profile
New Kymco Rider in Central Texas !
« on: April 01, 2015, 05:37:54 PM »
Hi Guys ( & Girls ) , ...

I recently bought a 2012 Kymco Like 200i with 700 miles from older folks for $ 1700 ... I thought it was a good deal considering Kymco's reputation, even though it had the original oil in the engine and the warranty had expired ...   :-\

I have had a lot of riding experience on Taiwanese Scooters since I had owned and ridden a 2009 Yamaha Zuma 125 , 32,000 miles ... At the same time I had & rode a 2006 Honda Reflex NS250 about 10,000 miles , ... Sadly, I sold these bikes off before we moved to Texas ...    :o

I had been doing my own maintenance & mods on those bikes & was a member of the Zumaforums website which was very helpful to me over the years for ideas, advice , used original parts and so on ... Guys who modified their scooters were a good source of gently used OEM parts ...

I live in Temple, Tx , ... the nearest Kymco Dealer is in Waco, 38 miles down the road ( many miles of which is 75 mph speed limit ) ( Welcome to Texas, Y'all !!! ) ...

The first service of my Like 200i was done near where I bought it in the Fort Worth Area @ 700 miles @ a Kymco Dealer in Burleson, Tx , ... They changed out the original oil & rear gear ( or final drive oil ) ... I have since changed the engine oil again @ 1,500 miles ...

I'd like some advice from you guys, ... ; How do I open up the headlight for bulb replacement or cleaning ? And , how to open up the front running lights as I want to change them out with brighter LEDs AND does anyone know which LEDs are best for  this application ? ( I saw a bike for sale in Florida on this forum that had the LEDs I want ...) ... And have tried to contact JuanJax about those LEDs ...