Author Topic: scooter vs motorcycle handling characteristics  (Read 3683 times)

Iahawk

• Eastern Iowa, USA
    • View Profile
scooter vs motorcycle handling characteristics
« on: March 30, 2016, 01:25:38 AM »
our scooters would appear to have a weight distribution biased toward the rear (based on engine location)...motorcycles would appear to have a more forward weight distribution...how does this affect the handling between the 2?

Is this even an accurate assumption? It also looks like the riding position is farther forward on a scooter than on a motorcycle...

So what are the advantages or disadvantages of a typical motorcycle layout vs a typical scooter layout? And I'm just learning about rake angle...are our scooters set up with a rake angle more like a sport bike...or a cruiser?

thanks for satisfying my curiosity on these random questions!
2010 People S200 - sold after 8 wonderful years!
2014 Ninja 300
1996 Honda Helix
1984 Honda Nighthawk 650

GLV55

• View Profile
Re: scooter vs motorcycle handling characteristics
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2016, 01:34:22 AM »
At the MSF Safety Course, a motorcycle rider took my P150 for a quick spin around the parking lot. He said two things really impressed him: 1. How agile it was in the corners because of the lower center of gravity,  and 2. How nice it was to not worry about shifting all the time. Then he asked me if I wanted to try his motorcycle. I politely declined and said I'd stick to scooter!
2014 Lance PCH 150
2007 Kymco People 150 (totaled by a drunk, Oct. 2013)
Nampa, ID

randyo

• Farmington, Strafford County, New Hampshire, USA
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2016, 02:52:33 AM »
I don't believe scooters are more agile due to lower center of gravity, but rather due to smaller wheel/tire size, a big scooter with larger wheels like a Bergman 650 is not more agile than a dirtbike with a high center of gravity but has skinny tires
RandyO
IBA#9560

Stig / Major Tom

• Global Moderator
  • Rural Ohio