Author Topic: Super 9 headlight upgrade?  (Read 7142 times)

dont_tread_on_me

• View Profile
Super 9 headlight upgrade?
« on: August 18, 2010, 08:43:37 AM »
  Is there an alternative bulb,say and LED out there to fit the Super 9 that will be better than factory,and if so where do you get it? I don't want to modify the factory wiring if avoidable.If not,what's the best source for factory replacements?
« Last Edit: August 18, 2010, 08:54:24 AM by dont_tread_on _me »

dont_tread_on_me

• View Profile
Re: Super 9 headlight upgrade?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2010, 11:46:28 AM »
 I found a bulb at Walmart last night to fit it.Does anyone know if running a Halogen bulb will hurt anything?

art

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2010, 06:18:08 PM »
 I think iv'e heard for some models the heat is not nice to your reflective background and cover not sure about the s9
Kymco peoples too many ;) I'm not an expert just a full time hobbiest.

Flamehawk

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2010, 11:18:56 AM »
Tried it before, it will melt the plastic!  Now, you can get a slightly higher wattage bulb.  Also, anyone notices how the two yellow lights on the front fering panel are just for looks, ans that there aren't any functioning bulbs in there. 

Now, they're starting to come out with headlight bulbs made out of LEDs.  Those stay nice and cool but i have not tried them.

dont_tread_on_me

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2010, 11:22:00 AM »
Tried it before, it will melt the plastic!  Now, you can get a slightly higher wattage bulb.  Also, anyone notices how the two yellow lights on the front fering panel are just for looks, ans that there aren't any functioning bulbs in there. 

Now, they're starting to come out with headlight bulbs made out of LEDs.  Those stay nice and cool but i have not tried them.