Author Topic: Kymco super 8 50cc help please  (Read 449 times)

Bazzasuper8

• View Profile
Kymco super 8 50cc help please
« on: May 08, 2020, 05:38:51 PM »
Hi there
I have just purchased a Kymco super 8 50cc 2014 has been sat for a couple years replaced battery and fired up ticked over nice , new fuel , oil before hand I took it for its first mot today (been off the road) and it passed few little bits fuses etc , they also serviced it , I’m new to bike world first ever one I insured it taxed it and was ready for my first trip out , drive it down back road all good 10mph to main road then on main road hit about 20mph and heard loud bang like backfire and then lost power and wouldn’t start , lucky was only 100 meters from home is there anything I could check or look for myself or any advice would be appreciated I did have a look no signs of leeks , they replaced spark plug and serviced it today with mot ,  ( won’t kick start either and with electric key it sounds like it wants to do something but like engine not kicking In
Thanks barry

scooterfan

• Durban, South Africa to Ankeny IA.
    • View Profile
Re: Kymco super 8 50cc help please
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2020, 06:09:03 PM »
For a start - maybe you should remove the spark plug, as well as the engine cooling fan cover at the right of the engine.
Then you can try to turn the cooling fan clockwise by hand. The engine should turn freely by hand without making weird noises.
If you can’t turn the engine you might have quite a big engine problem,  or maybe you should remove the CVT cover to see if the belt is not broken. If the belt is broken, there is a possibility that parts of the belt could stuck at the Variator.
Life is a journey. Just spend some time, and enjoy the trip.

Bazzasuper8

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2020, 06:35:31 PM »