Author Topic: Hot weather and de-restricted scooter  (Read 3251 times)

aokark

• View Profile
Hot weather and de-restricted scooter
« on: November 25, 2010, 04:55:53 PM »
I live in Miami and in the summers it can be up to 100F. Now during 'winter' it's around 80F.
Would it be a bad idea to cut the wire on the CDI, making the RPM's higher and correct me if I'm wrong but make the engine hotter?
I rarely ride less than 30 mins at a time when I get to places, sometimes it could be 2 hours.

I understand that I could throttle less and keep the RPM's lower but wouldn't that make the de-restriction kind of useless?

I'm sorry if I missed something about this or if I just sound stupid in general but I am completely new to these things!

oswaldters

• View Profile
Re: Hot weather and de-restricted scooter
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2010, 05:01:02 PM »
Not to worry, derestricting the scoot isn't going to cause it to run too hot.

I've ridden in my share of hot days - including in the low 100s and there isn't a problem.  If anything the heat is a problem if you are stuck at a long light and not moving for an extended period of time.  You don't want to let it sit at idle in the extreme heat.

When the scoot is in motion, the airflow will be sufficient to cool things.

Rianna

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2010, 05:02:53 PM »
Hi, aokark. So you're ready to go faster, huh? That didn't take long.  :D

aokark

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2010, 05:07:18 PM »
Haha not quite yet Rianna but I am sure I'll will eventually. :D
I used to have an old moped that did around 35-37 mph, in a way I kind of miss it!

Well there is a lot of traffic and traffic lights here! hehe but not sure how long you meant... :-P

oswaldters

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2010, 05:16:49 PM »
That will depend on the temperature really.