Author Topic: Newbie saying Hi  (Read 4458 times)

The Rookie

• View Profile
Newbie saying Hi
« on: May 24, 2012, 12:27:02 PM »
Just to introduce myself, My name is Simon and I'm an auto engineer (for 25 years), I know how to spanner cars and bikes (of the human powered variety) but I've just got an Agility 50 for my daughter as she needs it to get to work, we've got a fairly clean 2009 bike but the previous owner has been playing with it somewhat so I'll be seeking lots of advice while I seek to restore it to it's former (restricted - I care about my 16YO daughter) glory.

To summarise the work that may need doing
1/ Variator has been changed changed (malossi - new rollers and springs), may or may not need to reverse this (rather not)
2/ Sports air filter fitted (and then lost) so I'll be fitting a standard airbox
3/ Main jet changed, presume I'll need to change this back when I fit the airbox
4/ Exhaust changed, have the standard one so that will be going back on
5/ The Black panel under the rear coloured one (with the rear reflector and above the rear hang down panel) is broken by the right hand indicator, does the coloured bodywork have to come off to change this? I at least need to get 'behind' this to fit the indicator better than it is now, a replacement panel isn't much so may as well swap it out - suggestions anyone?
Thanks in advance

blue

• View Profile
Re: Newbie saying Hi
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2012, 01:00:37 PM »
Hi and welcome to the fourm.
As far as the variator I would just keep it.the jets I would put in a 82 main.the plastic and lights yes get the scoot looking nice again. looks like your on the right track good luck and keep your doughter safe. teach her some safty about scooting also.

The Rookie

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2012, 02:09:36 PM »
Thanks Blue for that, I'm guessing the carb is easy to understand once it's out from the bike, so will refit the original Jet (I'll check sizes in case it IS the original in there now!)