Author Topic: changed the main jet and scooter no longer accelarates  (Read 3734 times)

kopis

• View Profile
changed the main jet and scooter no longer accelarates
« on: June 20, 2012, 01:41:02 PM »
hi everyone

I read through most of the topics and found some similar problems to mine however could not find anything that could help me.

I have upgraded from 82 to 84 size jet , which gave the scooter a bit more power.It run well for a couple days but suddenly it started choking as if it is starved of fuel....
It starts and idles ok, the trouble starts as soon as I hit the throttle, it stars choking again and there is little or no acceleration :/

Any ideas please?

I am a wannabe mechanic :)

streido

• I view speed limits as guidelines rather than laws
    • View Profile
Re: changed the main jet and scooter no longer accelarates
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2012, 02:24:30 PM »
82 jet is normally perfect unless you fit an open filter, 84 may be too big for it. You wouldnt get any more power just from changing jets to a larger size anyway.

I would stick in a 82 jet and see if that solves it, or drill a few holes in the cover of the airbox to let some more air in to balance the larger jet out.
Chaos is my co-pilot.

kopis

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2012, 02:33:26 PM »
Thanks for the reply :)

I forgot to mention I replaced the jet back for the original 82 size and it didnt help.
I also replaced the spark plug as it was covered in black carbon, with no luck :(

streido

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2012, 02:49:50 PM »
Did you reconnect everything properly?

Black plug would indicate its running too rich, prob from the 84 jet.

Check the air box intake hose isnt kinked and the intake hose clamp is tight on the carb.
Also check the manifold that comes out the other side of the carb and goes into the engine os on correctly and not burst or leaking.

Could be something as simple as dirt in the carb from when you were in there?