Author Topic: Liking my new Downtown and Introduction  (Read 1639 times)

kayakbuilder

• View Profile
Liking my new Downtown and Introduction
« on: April 23, 2013, 05:24:49 AM »
My first post wasn't an introduction, but a question, so now I thought I'd just introduce myself.  Just bought my new Downtown a little over a month ago.  I've been commuting on an '08 Yamaha Zuma for the past five years, and really like the Downtown, but miss how nimble my Zuma is.  I wanted a bike for the highway, so that I could visit my aging parents without having to drive my HD 3/4 ton crew-cab 4x4 an hour each way.  The Downtown is doing a nice job of being able to do the highway stretches, and still be good for running around the city.  I used to ride a '72 Honda CB 350 back in the '80s but stopped riding until five years ago.

I use the login name kayakbuilder because I build kayaks as a hobby.  I am an 'older' father of two fairly young kids (9 and 10), who both want to ride with me.  My wife has no desire to ride due to a bad experience as a kid.  I am a Sr. Application DBA/Programmer in public service.  I live in the cool, wet Pacific Northwest, and still mostly ride year round.  I enjoy most outdoor activities in almost any weather, but am becoming more of a weather wimp as I get older.

I love to tinker and hopped up my '08 Zuma quite a bit, but still kept it reliable.  I also have been rebuilding a '99 Zuma II that was wrecked by the previous owner.

I will ask another question though.  My Downtown makes a clunking noise (sounds like up front) going over some bumps.  I have yet to isolate where it is coming from.  Is this normal, or should I take it back by the dealership?

I am a fairly busy individual, but look forward to contributing to this forum as I get to know these machines better.

Here is my current fleet, but I am selling the middle one.
'13 Downtown 300 White
'08 Yamaha Zuma Raven 70cc BBK, LV ZX Exhaust, CF Reeds, Sport Windscreen, SOLD