Author Topic: when to do first oil & gear oil change  (Read 2478 times)

stammer1

• View Profile
when to do first oil & gear oil change
« on: June 29, 2013, 09:51:18 PM »
Hello Scooterheads!   I'm fairly new to the scooter world, recently just brought 300gti. Manual says change oil around 600 miles. I have 350 miles on it now. Do I wait till then or a little sooner or after.

MotoRandy123

• Lets Ride!
    • View Profile
Re: when to do first oil & gear oil change
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2013, 10:35:16 PM »
If you do it at 600 miles you're all set according to Kymco but some people like to
change it earlier just to get the metal flakes out that might get caught in the wrong
place. I changed mine at 130 miles then again at 250. It looked good at 250 so probably
one early change is good. I used straight 30W oil as that's better for top end break in...
« Last Edit: July 03, 2013, 10:40:12 PM by MotoRandy123 »
2012 Yager GT 200I - Southern NH

MaryK

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2013, 11:56:56 PM »
I would follow the manual.  Kymco has the time and expertise to figure the the service schedule.
But then, I'd rather ride than work on a scooter.

scoot safely,

New Rider in 2010

2009 GrandVista 250

kymcoholic

• Kymco Parts shipped Worldwide !
    • View Profile
    • KymcoGenuineParts.com
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2013, 09:01:01 PM »
I would strongly suggest you stick to the Factory guidelines, after all who knows your Kymco better than the guys who built it !
Changing your oil before the recomended interval may result in metal particles being left behind....yikes !
Its the heating and cooling of the engine during the breakin period that unsticks the metal shavings left behind from machining process, however once suspended they can be easily be removed by draining the oil at the recomended interval.....now carry on and enjoy the ride !

Stig / Major Tom

• Global Moderator
  • Rural Ohio
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2013, 01:34:58 AM »